There is a nearly unlimited supply of advertising space on the internet. It is only limited by the number of ad impressions shown to people using the internet. The more people use the internet, the more ad space is available. Even though you might expect this to cause prices go to zero, website advertising rates are stable or increasing over time.
The Basics Of Website Advertising Rates
To understand how much it costs to buy advertising on the internet, you need to understand how it is sold. There are two main ways that most businesses pay for advertising online - CPM or CPC based rates. CPM stands for cost per thousand. CPC stands for cost per click. So, in CPM based ads, you pay per 1,000 ad impressions. In CPC based ads, you pay per click.
Advertising rates online are dictated by market competition and the place you are trying to advertise. For example, Facebook is a social network where not a lot of people are looking to purchase things. So, advertising on Facebook is cheap per impression or per click. The problem with that is if you are trying to sell things, it is a terrible place to advertise.
By comparison, Amazon is a place where people go to buy things, so advertising your product on Amazon will likely get you sales. Because it will get you sales, the price to advertise on Amazon is much higher.
How much should you pay?
When it comes to how much you should pay for advertising on a website, you need to consider how much it is going to cost vs how much it is going to make your business. Your goal should be to make every advertising dollar you spend be at least a break even advertising expense. So, when it's all said and done, your business stays afloat. No business can afford to advertise unprofitably forever. That will put you out of business.
So, if you make $100 per sale and you have a $60 cost to create your product, you can spend up to $40 in advertising to make a sale. If you can do it in $20 per sale, you can advertise profitably forever. If you do it for $60 per sale, you are going to run out of money and go out of business.
NOTE: The above example is overly simplistic and ignores multiple purchases, customer lifetime value, and the more complicated metrics of running a business.
Once you know how much you can pay per sale, you need to purchase advertising according to your own metrics. In general, you can expect say a 1% conversion to sale rate on your website. So, if you have $40 per sale to spend, and you convert at 1%, you can afford to spend $0.40 per click to break even. ($40 x 1% = $0.40)
If you are buying on a CPM basis, you will need to know what the click through rate is on your ad to be able to figure out the appropriate CPM. If you get a 1% click through rate, then you can spend up to $4 CPM. (1000 x 1% x $0.40 = $4)
All the above numbers are made up, and they will be different for each business. You need to do the math on your business's costs, revenue, and budget to understand how much you can afford to spend. Do this before you start buying advertising on websites.
Where To Buy Ads
There are so many places to buy advertising on a website, that it can be pretty daunting to get started. The top places I would start are Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Amazon Product Ads. What is great about those three platforms is you can get your feet wet without a huge ad spend. If you do it right, you should be able to spend $100 or less to get started and maybe get your first sale or lead.
With Google AdWords, you are purchasing keyword based advertising on a cost per click basis. The rates are going to vary on a per keyword basis. For example, the bid price on the keyword "cheese shredder" is going to be different than "used iphone cases".
One thing to understand about AdWords is you can bid on just the search network or what they call the content network. The content network is the AdSense ads placed on millions of websites throughout the internet. If you bid on "cheese shredder" on the content network, your ad could show up on the thousands of pages online about cheese shredders.
Bing Ads works almost the same as Google AdWords, but it is for the Bing and Yahoo search engines. Bing Ads has their own similar contextual advertising network of websites throughMedia.net. In general, the cost to advertise on bing is much lower than on Google AdWords. This is because there are fewer advertisers competing for ad space. Thus, the bids are lower per click.
Amazon Ads is the third best option. It is set there on this list because it is only a great option if you are selling a physical or digital product. For example, if you are selling a cheese shredder, advertising your product alongside other cheese shredders on Amazon is a good idea. If you are selling a lawn care service, advertising on Amazon doesn't make a whole lot of sense. As with Bing Ads and AdWords, you should start small and find something that works before throwing a lot of money at Amazon Ads.
Other Ways To Buy Website Advertising
If you go to a website that has ads on it, it is possible for you to buy ad placement. But, you should be cautious before venturing beyond the large marketplaces. You need to have your metrics in order and you need to understand how to profitably advertise your business. Otherwise, you are throwing money away. Once you have a good system in place for advertising your business online at a profit, you might look at these other advertising networks:
There are hundreds of other ad networks out there and it doesn't make sense for you to try them all. Instead, we recommend you start with the bigger networks and work your way down as you figure out what works for your business. Like any form of advertising, not every advertising channel is the same. You have to experiment and see what works for you.
We also have our own little ad network here at Growlight Network and are willing to discuss how we could help your business grow. Our rates are fair and we won't place an ad that we think is a dud. If you are interested in buying ads on our network, just fill out the contact form and we will be in touch soon.
UC Union by UCWeb is an affiliate program which pays you for promoting their paid stuff particularly their Android browser the, UC Browser. If you are running a blog or website with solid traffic from mobile devices, then you can promote their browser (on CPI model) or can use their ad code to display dynamic ads on your website.
I have been working with UC Union since March 2014 and till now, I have received 10 payments from them. The aggregate earnings with UC Union I have earned till now are around $1900. Although this figure may seem smaller to you but the fact is, I am earning this amount just from a single download link in an article I have written about UC Browser for Android.
I received the last payment of $236.24 just now via PayPal and decided to write this review with payment proof to make you believe that UC Union has a really good potential to monetize your mobile traffic. Here is the payment proof of latest payment UC Union sent me just a while ago.
How to Start Making Money with UC Union: As of now, UC Union has three monetization solutions for your traffic. These solutions are direct download of their browser on a CPI model, website traffic monetization via their ad code and app monetization by integrating their API.
To join UC Union network, visit their signup page here and submit your details. Once your account is approved, you will be assigned a dedicated account manager to help you out in setting up ad code or other promotional material on your website or app.
Payment Methods and Payment Cycle: UC Union processes payments via PayPal, Webmoney and via bank transfer as of now. Minimum withdrawal limit for PayPal and Webmoney is $10 while your earnings need to reach $200 if you have chosen to get paid via bank transfer.
Payments are finalized on 26th of a particular month and they are sent within 15 working days. It means that if your earnings reach minimum withdrawal amount by 25th of a month, say 25th of January 2015, then your payment will be sent by 10th of February 2015. In case your earnings don’t reach the minimum withdrawal limit, then they will be taken to the next withdrawal cycle.
This was a brief review about UC Union affiliate program and I shared the payment proof too. If you have any questions regarding their program, let me know in comments.
There are two ways you can publish your blog on Blogger - either by hosting it on Blogspot (example.blogspot.com) or hosting on your own custom domain (www.example.com or foo.example.com). You can change where your blog is published at any time, and it won't cause you to lose any content on your site.
First, purchase a custom domain
Before you move your blog to a custom domain, you need to have already purchased a custom domain from another provider.
There are many companies you can buy domain names from, including:
If your site's content is in a different language and you'd like to purchase a country-specific domain, you can do a search to find local registrars. For example, if your blog is in French and you'd like a www.example.fr domain, try searching for [domain registrar in france].
Next, set up your domain with your blog
Where would you like to host your blog?On a top-level domain (www.example.com).
After you've purchased your custom domain, follow the steps below:
Go to your blog and click on Basics under the Settings tab. In the "Publishing" section, click the link to add a custom domain.
Type the url of the domain you've purchased, keeping in mind that it must begin with www in order to work.
Click Save.
You should see an error, and two CNAMEs listed below. Each CNAME is composed of two parts - Name, Label orHost and Destination, Target or Points to. The first CNAME is the same for everyone, Name being "www" andDestination "ghs.google.com." The second CNAME is particular to your blog and your Google Account, and is therefore different for each person.
Go to your domain registrar's website and locate the DNS (Domain Name System) settings in the control panel.
Now it's time to enter the CNAMEs. Where it says Name, Label or Host simply enter "www" and list ghs.google.com as the Destination, Target or Points to.
Now enter the second CNAME in the same way.
Optional: You can also enter A-records, which links your naked domain (example.com) to an actual site (www.example.com). If you skip this step, visitors who leave off the "www" will see an error page.
Optional continued: After completing Step 8, enter your domain name in the format example.com, and list the I.P. addresses shown below in the "A" section. You'll need to create four separate A-records which point to four different Google IPs.
Before you move onto the final step, wait about an hour for your DNS settings to activate. If you attempt the final step before your settings are activated, we'll let you know with a warning message.
After your settings have been activated, you need to make sure Blogger knows about your custom domain so that Google can direct readers to your blog. Just head back to Blogger and update the information on your Settings | Basic tab. Find the area for "Publishing," and click the link to add a custom domain.
Enter in the URL for your custom domain in the text box provided, and click Save.
That’s it! Your blogspot.com address will soon redirect to your new custom domain -- be patient, as it might takeup to 24 hours for the redirect to start working. If you're still seeing an error after 24 hours, it means your settings weren't entered correctly and you should try the process a second time.
Some helpful notes:
If your new domain isn't taking you to your blog, wait another day or two to make sure all the DNS servers have been updated. If it still isn't working, contact your registrar to make sure you entered the DNS settings correctly.
Your original Blogspot address will automatically forward to your new domain. That way, any existing links or bookmarks to your site will still work.
Your posted images will continue to display on your blog.
While Distilled’s blog usually focuses on e-commerce, high level SEO and big-budget outreach I thought I’d mix it up this week and throw a little something to the hard-working AdSense publishers out there. The following is a beginner’s guide to Google’s advertising network for publishers. If you’ve been receiving checks from Google over the years it’s always advisable to take a step back and revisit some of the basics. Search engine exposure and organic traffic are great and all but we know you’re also ultimately interested in those dolla, dolla, bills.
The lines between paid and organic search are blurring while millions of site’s revenue streams depend on contextual advertising to survive. I’m convinced it’s important that well-seasoned consultants and webmasters understand both sides of the equation.
While you won’t find many mind-blowing, “Increase Your AdSense CPC in Minutes!” claims on this page you will hopefully come away having learned something new. Or at least inspired enough to test something out on your own site. I hope this guide helps bridge the knowledge gap between SEO and PPC professionals.
The On-Page Basics
Ad Placement
As an aspiring AdSense publisher you’ve probably already seen Google’s heat map for ad placement. Well, Google has moved away from that model and has decided to go for one more focused on the user experience:
The old heat map was a bit too generalized for the myriad site designs out there. The above encourages publishers to place their ads in a way that doesn’t circumvent their content. The possibilities are too numerous to dive into here but the idea is to get the ad in front of the user without taking too much away from the actual content. More ads in more obtrusive places does not always amount to more revenue (your ultimate goal, right?). The recentpagerank penalty for ads above the fold not withstanding; your readers are the life blood of your web property. Drive them away and you won’t even have to worry about that little potential bump in CTR you’ve been trying to squeeze out of the site.
Find a balance between intrusive and irrelevant, do some testing or better yet: poll your users to strike that balance.
Ad Types
While there are a lot of different ad sizes to choose from Google tells usthese four are the most successful:
Why do these ad units perform better than others? Google’s bidding system requires advertisers to create various multimedia ads for placement on their publisher network. Many companies do not purchase slots for all of the different formats so they ultimately don’t even create those sizes. Therefore, if you’re using a more obscure ad type the pool of bidding advertisers is smaller which results in lower revenue for you, the publisher.
Stick to these four ad units and you’ll get a lot more competition for your ad space.
Image vs Text Ads - I’ve heard webmasters swear that their sites make more money when they limit their ads to “image only” or “text only” but in the end, Google’s bidding system places the highest bidding ad onto your page, whether it be image or text. Cutting out half of the bidding pool can only lead to lower returns.
That having been said, all of that means nothing if your own testing can prove a lower number of clicks on your specific site. Perhaps your site design performs better with only text on the page. If this is the case you may need to ask yourself if the way you are placing your advertisements isn’t in violation of the Google Adsense Terms of Service as users may be accidentally clicking on the ads.
Either way it is considered best practice to allow both text and image ads for maximum competition over the ad space.
Blending vs. Contrast - Ah, another age-old AdSense debate. Should your ads be placed and colored in such a way as to blend in with your site design? Or will you get more clicks by having your ads stand out more? Webmasters are divided on this one but when a design feature is more or less a toss-up, in my mind, always go with what benefits the user. As a fellow website user yourself, do you prefer advertisements to “pop out” at you or would you rather they integrate seamlessly?
Trick question, we know you’re using AdBlock plus. Go back to Reddit, smart guy. Unless you come to me with some hard data showing that ugly ads will make us all wealthy vs an aesthetically pleasing one (and I encourage you to do that testing!) it just isn’t worth the eye sore or the user agitation. But even then you spent a lot of money on web design and a lot of time making your site look just so. Don’t sully that over a 0.1% increase in CTR. The blemish would have to have an unprecedented impact to even consider compromising my product: the character, look and feel of the site.
We may have sold our souls to Google’s advertising network but we’re still very much in the “Overall Pageview” and “Returning Visitor” business as well, you know.
Attract “Quality” Traffic
Google and it’s advertising partners want to reach potential buyers. If the traffic coming to your page isn’t that of people willing to buy or shop online then a click from a user on your page is objectively worth less to them (see notes on CPC, CTR and RPM below).
Google is confident in its own search engine (obviously) so organic traffic is very much considered “quality” traffic. I also suspect that Google favors “logged in” Google users for tracking and re-targeting purposes so referrals from places like Google plus are also desirable.
Since there is the most competition online for English advertisements in the United States then that is the traffic most valuable to your site. Traffic from other English speaking countries (UK, Canada, Australia etc) is also coveted.
Of course, site language and location aren’t something you can change very easily as a webmaster. But do keep this in mind if you’re seeing low numbers for a non-english site. There may be better contextual advertising alternatives out there for your language/country.
It’s important to note generally that Google keeps tabs on your traffic sources if only to help weed out invalid clicks. It also stands to reason that they use this data to help determine the quality of ads that will eventually appear on your site.
CPC, CTR & RPM
If you’re not familiar with these three acronyms then you’re probably new to the wonderful world of AdSense. Here are the quick and dirty definitions straight from Google:
CPC: cost-per-click (CPC) is the amount you earn each time a user clicks on your ad.
CTR: clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of page views.
RPM: revenue per thousand impressions (RPM) is calculated by dividing your estimated earnings by the number of page views you received, then multiplying by 1000.
These are the metrics you’re going to be looking at when you’re making decisions about ad performance. Pretty basic concepts, right?
You’ve probably seen the cornucopia of less-than-reputable blogs with big promises of “Unlocking The Secrets to Increasing your AdSense CPC” or “How to Get More AdSense Clicks”. In my experience these posts often advocate risky tactics and at the very least fail to completely demonstrate a comprehensive understanding of how AdSense works.
Cost Per Click is a number we, as publishers have little control over. Much of the calculation is based on your domain’s niche (Entertainment, Technology, Marketing etc) and that particular factor isn’t something you can easily change. Check out this in depth report from Google on niche trends in display advertising (and tons of other great info).
Much like Google’s AdWords program, prices can range from a few pennies per click up to five or ten dollars depending on the competition for that keyword. But the higher the competition for that keyword or category the less likely that your domain will be pulling in huge amounts of quality organic traffic around that keyword because of that competition.
Here’s a fictional situation many people run into that may help you get a better grasp on these three metrics and to help answer the question: “What rate is Google paying me at?”
A webmaster dives into her AdSense report for the past six months and sees the following. Up and to the right?! Not really.
“Fire our webmaster, fire our PPC expert, fire everything! I thought we just read through that ”How to Increase Your AdSense CPC“ blog post last month?! How could this have happened to our amazing site?”
Whoa there, CPC isn’t at all the best indicator of AdSense success.
“But isn’t $5.00 per click better than .30 cents per click?”
Not necessarily. Google could pay you $100 per click but with 0 valid clicks you’d still be penniless. That’s where Clickthrough Rate comes in. Take a look at this chart showing both CPC and CTR for the same time period:
Looks a lot better, right? And assuming your pageviews have been increasing over that six month period you could also be seeing a nice uptick in revenue.
Here’s where RPM comes in. You’ve gotta love RPM because it includes a metric much more important than CPC or CTR: Revenue.
RPM, remember is revenue per 1000 impressions. This is much more indicative of determining the rate at which Google is paying for your viewer’s attention. Take a look at the RPM for the same period of time as the above two charts.
See? No crisis. And I’ll be damned if that isn’t a slight increase! Remember that even a small bump in RPM can mean a lot for a site with upward trending page views. The other benefit of the RPM metric is that it can be easily compared across contextual advertising networks. Suppose you’re testing out AdSesne alternatives and you want to compare rates. CPC and CTR don’t tell the whole story. Even Revenue on it’s own can be deceiving (seasonality, Reddit spikes, etc). RPM takes everything into account and gives you a versatile, accurate estimate of your imbursement rate.
CPC and CTR are worth monitoring on their own. Of course you want your CPC to stay as high as possible. And obviously you’ll use CTR to test banner sizes, colors, placement and ad quality. But at the end of the day the only thing that really matters to you as a publisher is revenue. To that end CTR and CPC just don’t tell the whole story on their own.
You’ll probably read other articles promising increases in CPC or CTR TONIGHT! But be wary of anything that even comes close to violating Google’s ToS. Avoid general statements such as “wider ads are better”, “ads within content are always better” or “orange text is always better” because these might not apply to your site design, niche or site layout at all.
There are several of these CTR factors (many of which I’ve addressed here) that are worth testing and are completely legit but we’ll have to dive deep into those in distilledU or a more advanced post.
Using the Competitive Filter (Sparingly)
AdSense allows publishers to block specific ads based on a few different parameters: URL (Target.com, eBay.com), Broad Category (Clothes, Cars, Animals), and Ad Network (DoubleClick, AdWords) are the ones you’ll most likely use, if any. You can also choose to approve each advertisement manually but this will require your personal attention and also puts a drain on your overall revenue as it sort of grinds against the entire idea of a bid-based, dynamic advertising system.
Google generally recommends allowing most advertisements through. Advertisers “bid” on ad placements based on keywords, topic areas and inventory. The advertisement that ends up popping up on your domain is the one that paid the most for that spot. Even if that ad looks like crap. Even if that ad is the same one that’s been showing up for months. Google wants to make the most money from that ad unit as it can (hey, that’s the same goal that you have!) so they inevitably advise users to utilize the ad filter sparingly.
In my personal experience working with several sites running AdSense... wait for it... Google is correct. Google is aware of factors such as CTR so it is very doubtful that you have any information about getting better ads to your pages than they do. Perhaps in 2005, when the frontier was new and fresh, the AdSense algorithm was less able to deliver relevant ads to your pages. But we’ve come a long way since then and the ads that appear on your site are not only the highest paying, they’re also the most likely to get clicked on.
You also don’t want to block ads from Target.com, eBay.com and hulu.com one week, forget about it for two years and then come back to your filter wondering why you limited yourself. (yes, this situation happened to me). So if you do use the ad filter be sure to check it periodically to make sure your blocks still make sense.
Having said that there are some situations where using the competitive ad filter makes sense:
Competitor’s Ads Are Showing Up on Your PagesSome Ads Contain Undesirable “Roll-Over for Sound/Video” EffectsMoral Objections (Gambling, Insurance, Starbucks)
Mobile Considerations
If you’re running a mobile-specific theme then you’ll need to account for this. Make sure that your ads are tagged properly so that you can monitor their performance (see “Monitor Everything” below). You may have already noticed that AdSense ads delivered on mobile devices already look different than their desktop counterparts using the same code. Google has been making some changes recently to make the ads more “touch friendly”. This includes font size changes as well as the addition of graphical, clickable arrows to encourage mobile clicks.
Below is a bit of anonymous AdSense data that was taken over the past year and covers 4.5 million PVs. As you can see the distribution of pageviews across platforms is very similar to that of clicks.
This leads me to believe that mobile users are clicking on AdSense ads at just about the same rates as desktop users these days, if not more so (this data was taken from a site without a dedicated mobile version or a responsive design).
But what does this mean to you? Well first you should be sure to check these stats out for yourself. Results may vary given your setup. Does your distribution of pageviews match up with your distribution of clicks? If mobile is significantly down then you’ve got some ‘splainin to do! There are too many possibilities to dive into here but if your mobile users aren’t clicking on ads then take another look at how you’re delivering content to mobile users and make sure it either matches the desktop experience or compensates for it properly. Just keep an eye on those stats as more and more traffic moves to mobile. This needn’t be a negative development for your site or your pocket book.
If you’ve got a dedicated mobile version of your blog then you might want to consider AdSense’ mobile specific ads. Otherwise your normal AdSense code works just fine these days.
Monitor Everything
Trying to nail down cause and effect scenarios with AdSense is a lot like trying to do the same in SEO. Was that increase in CTR caused by an on-page color change that I made or are we simply being served more clicktastic ads this month? How can you be truly sure with so many variables in play? You ultimately can’t precisely do this and Google likes it that way. In fact, we should all like it that way because the system doesn’t work very well if, as is sometimes the case with SEO, some are able to manipulate the system. But even so, as webmasters we know that if we keep a close eye on all of the variables and maintain a steady stream of incoming data we’ll be able to make some educated guesses about what Google is looking for.
Google AdSense monitors almost everything you’ll care about right out of the box. You should immediately connect AdSense to your Analytics account as the data there cannot be applied retroactively. But the most important manual step you’ll want to take is to apply a unique label to each of your ads. The AdSense console makes it (somewhat) easy to track how each ad unit is doing. All you need to do is create individual channels for each ad unit and you’ll be able to track how each is doing.
Here’s a two-minute primer on custom channels:
After a month or two of data you’ll more than likely find that some of your ad unit placements are under-performing. With the Analytics connection you’ll also be able to narrow it down to which pages are performing. Powerful information, indeed. Get rid of the under-performing units for the sake of your users and to increase your overall CTR. Or maybe even consider placing an additional unit on pages that perform well. You could even do some simple A/B testing this way to determine which ad styles worked best for you.
I could put together an entire post on the fun things you can do with this data but it’s all for naught if we don’t have it trickling in from the beginning so make that Analytics connection like, yesterday.
All of the above will become moot if your account gets the banhammer. Getting into the AdSense program has never been more difficult and getting back into the program is an even taller order. For the sake of brevity here is a list of the most egregious violations of the Adsense publisher’s agreement:
Soliciting Clicks Content Containing Porn, Violence or Racial IntoleranceAllowing Comment/Forum/User Spam to LingerCopyright InfringementsLabeling Your Ads as “Resources” or “Favorite Links”Publishing Your Adsense Data (I’ve used hypothetical/anonymized data above)Not Having or Abiding by a Privacy PolicyManipulating the AdSense Code (or placing it into an iFrame)Abiding by all Google Webmaster Guidelines
Always Be Tinkering (ABT)
Never stop. While the above tips are great for beginners I’m sure some of our more advanced readers are shaking in anticipation of more advanced AdSense tactics. While you wouldn’t want to monkey around with any of the items in the “Protecting Your Adsense Account” section, don’t be afraid to experiment with how ads may perform on your page in particular even if they go against one of the suggestions I’ve made above:
Perhaps blending your ads in with your site’s theme just doesn’t work as well as contrasting. Give it a test!
Does Google insist on showing a certain type of ad on your page that you’re convinced isn’t getting clicks? Add it to the competitive filter and monitor!
Google changes the hex color of their ad backgrounds, titles and URLs by all the time. Why shouldn’t you?
You’ll never know for sure until you test it out on your domain, with your users, in your niche. Even if you’re counting AdSense paper stacks like Dr. Dre you may inevitably see a dip in those numbers as user’s preferences change.
A Bit of Speculation &Testing
So these are the basics of AdSense for publishers. Hopefully you’ve gleaned at least one or two tips from the above information but for those of you pining for more advanced recommendations I promise to return with those in the future.
As with Google’s search algorithm we don’t know everything about how AdSense determines CPC, ad quality or publisher quality. We assume that they’re looking for signals similar to that of the search algo but of course there are nuances that, if known to publishers everywhere, would be abused.
But this is just one more reason to Always be Tinkering with your AdSense placements. You have nothing to lose by doing a bit of A/B testing with your ads to determine which colors, placements and ad types work best. In the end the ad deliveries vary so much by niche, region and the browsing history of your visitors that some of these “rules” will need to be customized to fit your precise needs.
Keep speculating. Test your own hypotheses in the real world and report back here with a comment or two.
Creating a blog with Viral Traffic is a challenge. so
So when you Ask Some One For Driving traffic then they may tell you to use blog carnivals,Seo Smo or Simply Adwords
I want to Tell you The Best Option Hahha Yes there is Another One Which is for Bignners
Post Post Post
Yes
Post as Much As you cAn ... Use LAbel For Each Post And You should Keep in Mind You Can Generate 2000 Labels.. USe the Best label and Share it on Google + Thats it wait for a minute and Then Check Your Your PAge Veiws .. its Owsum.. i Drive 233 visitors in only 6 to 7 posts with Value able LAbels.. I mean Usefull Which people manly search on Google.
And When your Are Reading This Post i am Sure You Clicked on A Google Plus Id On Google
.
. Do As I Say You Will Also Run A Successfull Blog ..
Why You Should Use Custom Domain Name for BlogSpot Blog
Most of the newbies who starts a blog, prefer to use BlogSpot as their blogging platform. This actually makes sense, as BlogSpot is free, and you need less technical skills to get started. From a learner perspective, it’s a zero investment, and return is high. With BlogSpot platform, we get major benefits like
Free, Unlimited bandwidth, Unlimited storage.
Though storage is not unlimited but we have plenty of options like creating different author profile and use them to store images and files. The only thing which they might not like with blogSpot is .blogspot domain name, which can be easily fix by buying a custom domain name.
Usually a blogspot URL is something like domain.blogspot.com, and a custom domain name is www.domain.com.
For the record, WordPress is much better blogging platform, and according to July 2013 report, 19% of websites in the world is powered by WordPress. Anyways, this is a completely different topic of discussion, and if you want to read about it, here are two resource:
Even though, if you plan to stick to BlogSpot platform for couple of months, a good idea is to get a custom domain name for your blog. This will help you in many ways, which I have explained below:
Why you should buy a custom domain for your blogspot blogs?
Buying a domain name is cheap :
Buying a domain name is pretty cheap, you can easily get good domain name ending with .com or .org in between $10-$13. If you are really low in budget, you can consider buying a .info domain which will cost you between 1$- 2$. You can buy .com domain name for cheap from ShoutMyDomain..
Social media sites :
BlogSpot being a free platform, is often targeted by spammers, and this is one reason they are less likely to be trusted by people on social media sites. When you use a custom name for your BlogSpot blog, this removes that first impression of a free blog. Do remember, Social media users doesn’t hate blogspot but they don’t even love it.
Web promotion:
Talking about web promotion , which starts from social media sites to link building, most of top websites doesn’t like giving a link back to blogspot domain. If you will notice WordPress Blogs blogroll, it will be hard to find a BlogSpot domain there.
Seriousnesstowards blogging :
You have been working a lot on your blogspot blogs, but without a nice layout, template and domain name, people will not feel that you are very serious about blogging. One simple reason you are not ready to spend few dollars for thing which you love.
Branding
Using your custom domain name, you can use it to brand yourself easily. Use a nice logo, favico and banner to brand yourself. You can look for wordpress like blogspot themes to give a entire new look to your blogspot blogs.
Google Apps
With custom domain, you will also get facility to use custom domain based Email address, and you can have email address of your domain name. Like I have admin[at]shoutmeloud.com
SEO advantage:
Later on when you plan to migrate your blog to WordPress, custom domain name will ensure that you will not miss out link juice, and your migration will be more search engine friendly. I have talked about this in detail here: How BlogSpot users can prepare for WordPress migration.
How to start with custom blogSpot domain ?
So, if you are convinced that you should have a custom name for your BlogSpot blog, here is what you need to do the next.
1) Find a domain name: First thing you should be doing is, find a perfect domain name for your blog. Don’t use your personal name, rather use something which is brandable and memorable. Search for a domain name using any of these 5 domain name suggestion tools. You can refer to How to select great domain name and how to find best domain name for some additional tips on selecting name for your domain.
Go ahead, and give a cool custom domain name to your BlogSpot blog. If you have any question, feel free to ask me via comments. If you find this article useful, do share it on Facebook and Google plus.